Acantilado :: The Cliff

I was reading about the passsing of Mario Benedetti, an Uruguayan writer and poet, when I ran across this little jewell of a poem. It touched me in a special way, especially because I must have been in a somber mood (yes, sometimes I feel somber, and others like a bird in the sky with no worries).
So I decided to produce a composition to honor him and share my feelings with all of you.

Mario Benedetti aka (Mario Orlando Hamlet Hardy Brenno Benedetti Farrugia) September 14, 1920 – May 17, 2009) was an Uruguayan journalist, novelist, and poet. He was not well known in the English-speaking world, but in the Spanish-speaking world he was considered one of Latin America’s most important 20th-century writers.

You may read more about this writer at :: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mario_Benedetti~~~

Elements used in this production:
Music: Dance of the clouds by Origen remix with recording of poem.
Photography and HDR: Leo Bar; public domain
Concept Art and Animation: Leo Bar

~~
Estados de animo

Unas veces me siento como pobre colina,y otras como montaña de cumbres repetidas.
Unas veces me siento como un acantilado,y en otras como un cielo azul pero lejano.
A veces uno es manantial entre rocas,y otras veces un árbol con las últimas hojas.
Pero hoy me siento apenas como laguna insomne,
con un embarcadero ya sin embarcaciones.
Una laguna verde inmóvil y paciente, conforme con sus algas sus musgos y sus peces.
Sereno en mi confianza, confiando en que una tarde te acerques y te mires… te mires al mirarme…

States of mind

Sometimes I feel as a low hill
and others as a mountain with many peaks.
Sometimes I feel like a cliff,
and others as a blue but distant sky.
At times one is a spring between rocks, and other times a tree with few lasting leaves.
But today, I feel as a sleepless pond, its pier with no boats.
As a green pond motionless and patient,
in peace with its algae its mosses and fish.
Serene and confident, assured that some evening you’ll come near and see yourself…and look at yourself as you look at me…

Mario Benedetti 1920 – 2009

Leave a Reply

