Tango Contratiempo

Once I heard the musical composition, I fell in love with this fusion tango, and knew I had to produce a video for it. That was 2 years ago! The approach I took was to make it as syncopated in imagery as the composition itself. As I was making slow progress towards the middle of the project, a new project popped up and I had to put this on ice for a while.

Once I returned to it, I had lost my train of thought and the pace I wanted to maintain. Restarting to tune in and reconnecting with the inspiration did not go smoothly. Hopefully the start-stop-start nature doesn’t show in the final product. Enjoy the show!

Contratiempo – [translation] In music It can be written with silences (in this case as a syncopation written with silences). If the instrument running pace no longer produces sounds. Syncopation in music is the compositional strategy to break the regularity of the rhythm, through the accentuation of a note on a weak spot or a semi-strong compás.
[Spanish] Puede ser escrita con silencios (en este caso se denomina contratiempo). Si el instrumento que ejecuta el ritmo no produce sonidos prolongados, se oirá lo mismo como escrito con notas de síncopa escrita con silencios.
~~
Music: Montserrat (a modern tango fusion) by Bajofondo (live) in Montevideo,  Uruguay (remixed by Leo Bar)
Some photographs of Bs. As. courtesy of Fotografo Volante @ flickr.com/photos/ruggeroarena/

Leave a Reply

